A Field in Which to Frolic**


Eat Pigs, Not Puppies?
October 12, 2011, 5:22 pm
Filed under: IMO

I think it’s interesting how people are all up in arms about Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall comparing eating a puppy to eating a pig. Of course, I would never eat a puppy, but then again, I wouldn’t eat a pig.

While most people consider pigs nothing more than a form of food, the truth is pigs are smarter than dogs. You can even compare their intelligence to primates (see the article below).  According to studies done at Penn State, the following is true:

  • Pigs lead complex social lives that behaviorists once believed to be true only of primates.
  • Mother pigs sing to their piglets while they are nursing.
  • Pigs excel at video games that would be hard for a young child, and sometimes better than primates.
  • Pigs dream.
  • Pigs have a good sense of direction, and can find their way home from long distances.
  • They learn from watching one another.
  • Pigs outsmart each other. One will often follow another pig to food before grabbing it away from him, and the pig who was tricked will change behaviors to reduce how many times it is tricked.

So why is it ok to eat a pig, but not a dog? Because that’s how it’s always been for our society? Because dogs are cuter than pigs? For that matter, what makes it okay to eat one particular animal, but not another?

I don’t claim to be a vegetarian; I’ve even made the arbitrary rule that while I won’t eat a cow or a pig, I will eat a chicken or a fish.  I can’t even give you a good reason why it’s okay with me that I eat the animals that I eat.  And my reasons for not eating a cow or a pig? Cows are cute and pigs are smart. That’s probably absurd thinking to most meat-eaters and vegetarians alike.

My point is, even though we’re a puppy-loving society, it’s not that outlandish to compare eating pig to eating dog.

Below is a screenshot of a now-defunct page. Clicking on it will take you one similar.

Hugh Hugh Farnsley-Wittingstall - Eat Puppies

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

