A Field in Which to Frolic**


7-Day Juice Fast – Day 8
March 4, 2013, 7:45 pm
Filed under: Health & Wellness | Tags: , ,

Juice Fast Day 8 – Food is Glorious

I love food!

I love food!

Firstly, let  me apologize for my delay in writing this post. Friday night I was so preoccupied with eating that I simply didn’t think about it. This weekend was super-busy, and to be honest, I wanted to spend as much time cooking as I could. I have some great recipes to share, but that will have to wait for a bit. Let’s get to the final day of fasting.

Pretty much, I was worthless all day long. Needless to say, I was so looking forward to eating that I could think of nothing else. I was also excited to spend the weekend cooking, so most of my energy was spent meal planning.

It didn’t take long for me to prepare my dinner Friday night. It was a simple, yet delicious dish of black beans, rainbow quinoa, avocado, tomato, almond cheese, and non-dairy sour cream. Of course, I ate too much for my tiny, shrunken belly and ended up uncomfortable, but I was really okay with it. I was surprised to find that I needed to go to bed pretty early, perhaps because of the energy spend to restart my digestive system.

The Results of the Juice Fast

This may be TMI, but it’s no joke that your digestive system will work much better following a juice fast. I’ll just leave it at that. That’s just one of several things I’ve noticed as direct changes since the fast. Others, in no particular order, are:

  • No headaches. I have always had pretty regular headaches, ie a couple a week. From a dull ache to piercing pain, it’s just something I’ve come to expect. Since I started juicing (prior to the fast) I can’t recall a single one. I’d say it’s been at least three weeks since I’ve had a headache.
  • No sugar cravings. My sweet-tooth has been out of control for all of my life. I could easily put down an entire box of Hot Tamales, bag of gummy bears, or package of (gluten-free) Oreos. Some days, I would eat anything with sugar that I could get my hands on. I’d go from desk to desk at work, scavenging  whatever sweet treats happened to be available. Now, not only do I not think about wanting sugar, I am pretty easily able to ignore the treats that I see around.
  • Waking up is easier. Normally, getting out of bed is a major struggle. I’ll hit snooze for at least an hour, then fumble around the house trying to get ready, pissed that I’m going to be late again. Saturday, I woke up at 9 (which is very early for me on a weekend) and Sunday I was up at 7:15. I’m amazed
  • Food tastes better. Clean, simple, healthy things like seeds, beans, veggies, etc. all seem to taste so much better than they did before. See the recipe at the bottom of this post for my superfood salad for an example.
  • Staying away from processed food is easier. I attribute this to the mental aspect of the fast. I know that I am much cleaner on the inside, so I don’t want to put chemicals, additives, and other crap into my body. When I grocery shopped this weekend, the only things I bought that were pre-packaged were hemp seeds, agave, and acai powder. Everything else, I bagged myself (produce, dry goods, nuts).
  • Going along with the previous one, I am more committed to making noticeable changes to my body. Previously, I don’t think I fully believed in my ability to change. I accepted the parts of me that I wasn’t particularly happy with, not because I’m all zen-like, but because I didn’t think I had a choice. Now, I do believe that if I work hard enough, I can change those stubborn parts of me. I’ve decided to commit to a 6-day gym routine, and I’ve actually really excited about it.
  • And last but not least, a noticeable reduction in body fat. My favorite pair of jeans, which normally fit snugly at my hips, required a belt to stay up. Today (four days post-fast), I re-measured myself to see what the exact difference was. I wanted to wait a couple days so I had food in my system before measuring my waist/belly. Here are the results:
    • Waist – before: 27.6 inches, after: 26.5 inches
    • Belly – before: 32, after: 30.25
    • Hips – before: 33.5, after: 32.1
    • Thighs (average) – before: 21.4, after: 21.1
    • Butt – before: 36.5, after: 35.5.

Is a juice fast worthwhile?

In my humble opinion, absolutely. Not only because of the reasons I listed above, but also because it was great for me to set a goal and reach it. I questioned whether I would be able to do this, and I surprised myself that I made it without cheating (although my friend Matt says a 4oz glass of seltzer water was cheating). In fact, it’s something I will for sure do again, and probably regularly. I think I’ll wait until the summer to do another one, though. I figure at that point, I’ll be happy to freeze from the inside out 🙂

If you’re interested, here are the juices I drank throughout the fast.

Superfood Saladsuperfood salad

  • 1/3 cup black beans
  • 1/3 cup quinoa
  • 1 tbsp goji berries
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 tbsp sunflower seeds
  • 1 1/2 tbsp hemp seeds
  • as much lettuce as you want, any variety

Acai Vinegrette (whole bottle, not per salad!)

  • 6 oz olive oil
  • 2 oz apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tsp acai powder
  • 1/2 tsp oregano
  • 1/2 tsp basil
  • 1/2 tsp garlic salt
Superfood Salad Recipe

*includes about 1 tbsp of the acai vinegrette

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

