A Field in Which to Frolic**


7-Day Juice Fast – The Juices
March 5, 2013, 9:44 am
Filed under: Health & Wellness | Tags: , ,

7-Day Juice Fast Recipes

juice ingredientsPlease note that these recipes are not magic cure-alls, or recommended by anyone but me. These are just the juices that tasted the best to me, and provided an assortment of veggies and fruits. If you’re trying to lose weight specifically, I’d recommend using less fruit than what I used here. Also, because I bloat significantly when I drink pure juice, I diluted all of these juices.  I’d say for every 8 oz glass I drank, about half was juice, half was water.

Better Than V8

  • 4-5 kale leaves
  • handful of parsley
  • 1 large tomato or 2-3 roma tomatoes
  • 4-5 stalks of celery
  • 1/2 red bell pepper
  • 1/2 green bell pepper
  • 2 red pearl onions (the tiny ones)
  • 1 small beet
  • 1/3 jalapeno

This made me about 24 ounces of pure juice.

Glorious Green

  • 1 cucumber
  • large handful of spinach, with stalks
  • 1 large green apple
  • 1/2 inch piece of fresh ginger

This gave me about 16 ounces of pure juice.

Orange Delight

  • 4-5 carrots
  • 1 medium-sized orange
  • 1/3 jalapeno
  • 1/2 inch piece of fresh ginger

This yields about 8-10 oz of pure juice.

Looks Gross Tastes Great

  • 1/2 cucumber
  • large handful spinach, with stalks
  • large handful blueberries
  • large handful red grapes

This yields about 8-10 oz of pure juice.

Should you store fresh juice, and if so for how long?

If you’ve done any research on juicing, you’ve probably heard that it’s really important to drink the juice while it’s fresh, as opposed to letting it sit for a long period of time. Some people say you must drink it immediately, while some say a few hours in a mason jar is acceptable. The reasoning is that when oxygen and light hit your juice, you start to lose some of the nutrients due to oxidization. While this is true, I’ve found a process that helps me extend the life of my juice to get me through a day at work. For more on the topic, read this post on retaining nutrients in your juice.

amber jar

  1. Get the right container: – I bought 9 of these 8 oz amber jars from someone on Etsy. Amber glass keeps the light out and helps extend the life of your juice.
  2. Prepare your juice in the morning, not the night before.
  3. Fill the amber jars all the way to the tippy top. I actually made mine slightly overfill, so I knew I had no room for air on the top. If you don’t have enough juice to fill the jar all the way up, then add water until it’s full.
  4. Place the jars in the freezer until you leave the house. For me, this was about 2 hours.
  5. Use a small cooler to transport your juice. Yes, you look like you’re carrying a transplant organ around, but that just makes you more interesting to strangers.
  6. Keep the cooler of juice in the fridge all day, and only remove 1 jar as you’re going to drink it.
  7. For some reason, drinking out of a straw was easier than drinking without one. I bought one of those hard, reusable cups with a screw-on lid and accompanying straw. It’s since become my best friend at work.
  8. I also recommend keeping your juice on ice as you drink it, and not letting it sit too long as you’re drinking it. It will start to separate after a while.

You may find that this is too much juice for you, or maybe it’s not enough. Do whatever works for you, not what works for someone else. Good luck!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Great tips on storing juice! Make sure you drink plenty of water throughout the day while juicing too.

Comment by Storm

Reblogged this on Natural HealTHINista and commented:
Some great recipes — They suggest putting juice in freezer, but I dont’ recommend that. Just make your juice in the am, and keep in a glass jar (I wouldn’t worry about filling to top) and be sure you drink within that day…keep cold in a cooler or fridge until you’re ready to drink.

Comment by TheNaturalHealthinista

They’re not in the freezer long enough to freeze, they just get really cold, so they stay super cold throughout the day. They’re not icy though.

Comment by afieldinwhichtofrolic




Leave a Reply

