A Field in Which to Frolic**


We could have
October 23, 2015, 11:00 pm
Filed under: Undisclosed

I was going through my friends on Facebook, deciding whom to move to a list (or remove altogether), and there you were. I haven’t seen you for years. Honestly, I can’t remember the last time I thought about you.

That’s refreshing. And encouraging.

When I looked upon your face, realized how little I knew you at all: not at all now, very little even then. It’s amazing how much perspective a little time gives. (Truth is, I was fucking crazy, and we were both so much the opposite of mature.)

I also found myself wondering how long it had been since you’d thought of me. Longer, I’m sure, for you than me.

We could have had a kid. Weird, right?

Good thing we didn’t. How different our lives would be. Or maybe not, who knows.

I hope your life makes you happy. I hope you’re doing exactly what you most want to do.

Maybe someday, we’ll run into each other again.

Until then, be well.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

